Reminder to take breaks

Friday got to be maybe a little too much. I have a high tolerance, but I’m starting to feel where the edge of maxing out begins. I needed to take a news break for some art and friends time. I’ll never quit, but sometimes we gotta pause for the cause.

Friday was Holocaust Remembrance Day, which by its nature and by necessity, meant a day full of images on my FB feed including basically piles of my dead relatives. But there were also some new-to-me Holocaust images, real nightmare fodder, so that ratcheted it up a bit. Then there was the Emmett Till outrage (see previous post), the announcement of the not-really-a-Muslim-ban Muslim ban (that prioritizes Christians), news about the anti-abortion march, reading the comforting/terrifying Rogue White House twitter feed, and then ending with some personal relationship emotional labor… plus we did a big client presentation at work that afternoon. It was an emotionally taxing day.
Saturday I kind of took a break for art and friends. That was low-key and fun.
Sunday, I went to the #NoBanNoWall protest and got back to thinking and sharing.
Monday I got a weird bee in my bonnet to do some in-depth cleaning and culling, and spent many hours in the deeper recesses of a couple of closets. It is astonishing how much I got done just by paying 50% of attention to news. Really makes me think how all this stuff must be adding up to rob me of years of my life. Not that I feel I have a choice (morally), as we all know how many people have no option to ignore what’s going on around us. So angry at what this administration is doing, all the huge and tiny evils, the theft of time, the erosion of energy, the demoralizing, the destruction.
About amywinns

Semi-snarky, semi-sincere, occasionally ranting, always paying attention. Feminist who can work a skirt and crack a joke. Grammar nerd who is also fun at parties. Mid-career writer/editor with 15 years’ experience in newspapers & magazines who now helps developers at a major media corporation communicate with the suits who write the checks. Pro-women, pro-family, pro-choice, pro-workingclass, pro-entrepreneur, pro-farmer. Like every other bourgeois Brooklynite, I choose local/organic/raw food — mostly vegetables — whenever possible/reasonable/affordable but I’m not a smug asshole about it. Hometown: Atlanta. Weird hobby: lindy hop. No pets, no kids, no thanks.
This entry was posted in I am awesome!, Politics, Random thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

