“Advice from Atalanta” intro

All right. Just about every day, someone asks me for advice, usually from this board. Friends, but also acquaintances and downright strangers who only know me from my posts. I’m always flattered, and always try to help out.

I have decided it might be interesting to offer advice as a public service. This is not a jokey thing; I am being sincere. I may make jokes but only when appropriate. I promise to give thoughtful answers and if i need to do research or call on an expert, I will. If I simply cannot answer with confidence, I will say so.

I promise to be respectful and polite but if tough love is needed, it will come.

Subjects can range from writing, job hunting, family/office politics, interpersonal relationships, dancing, dating, boosting self-confidence, making pressing decisions, etiquette, personal style, etc. I know NOTHING about technology or mechanics (no computer, gadget or car questions). I’m not a fashion or sartorial expert. Also, no explicit sex technique questions, etc. This is an all-ages site and I’m not about to become the Dan Savage of Yehoodi. Even though I worship him.

Finally, I promise to offer confidentiality to all who request it. Send me a private message (PM) and I will remove identifying details. However, even PM’ed requests for advice that I can answer will be posted in some form. Otherwise, this will become a fulltime job. Also, this is not to become group therapy. If you have an issue that you want the world to pitch in their thoughts, create a thread as normal and have at it.

This is only an experiment. I hope it will be taken in that spirit. If it fails, then it fails and the thread will die. And I will know that I should have kept my mouth shut — but at least this will be solicited opinions for a change!! 🙂

About amywinns

Semi-snarky, semi-sincere, occasionally ranting, always paying attention. Feminist who can work a skirt and crack a joke. Grammar nerd who is also fun at parties. Mid-career writer/editor with 15 years’ experience in newspapers & magazines who now helps developers at a major media corporation communicate with the suits who write the checks. Pro-women, pro-family, pro-choice, pro-workingclass, pro-entrepreneur, pro-farmer. Like every other bourgeois Brooklynite, I choose local/organic/raw food — mostly vegetables — whenever possible/reasonable/affordable but I’m not a smug asshole about it. Hometown: Atlanta. Weird hobby: lindy hop. No pets, no kids, no thanks.
This entry was posted in Advice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Advice from Atalanta” intro

  1. Pingback: The birth of “Advice from Atalanta” | Amy Winns

Leave a Reply

